Email Signup

Be the first to know about new products and special offers!

Thanks for subscribing! Here's a coupon for $5 off $30 or more: MUSICMAIL
Sam & Dave's famous "Hold On I'm Coming" originated when Dave shouted the phrase from the Stax Records restroom.

Art Blakey & Jazz Messengers - Roots And Herbs Vinyl Record (New, Blue Note Tone Poet Series) 


This is a Vinyl LP pressing in Blue Note's Tone Poet Series.

One of Art Blakey's greatest albums with the Jazz Messengers, Roots & Herbs, is little known.

In 1961, the group featured Lee Morgan (trumpet), Wayne Shorter (tenor sax), Bobby Timmons (piano) and Jymie Merrit (bass). Recorded in Rudy Van Gelder's New Jersey studio, it's a brilliant set of six Shorter compositions, like the playful "Ping Pong" and the clever "United." It's among Blakey's finest.

Label: Blue Note Records


1 Ping Pong
2 Roots and Herbs
3 The Back Sliders
4 United
5 Look at the Birdie
6 Master Mind