Email Signup

Be the first to know about new products and special offers!

Thanks for subscribing! Here's a coupon for $5 off $30 or more: MUSICMAIL

Tom Waits - Brawlers Vinyl Record (New, Remastered) 


Brawlers presents probably the best-known of Tom Waits' personalities, filled as it is with vocal cord damage, found percussion, old-timey arrangements, and cartoon-buzz lead guitar.

It's also the disc that flirts most dangerously with cliché, filled as it is with his well-trod inventory of Americana underbelly images: trains, jailhouses, barrooms, etc. However, the secret of Waits' act is how well he deploys these should-be-tired cultural touchstones; at the very least, he sounds more comfortable in the role of a boxcar-hopper than he does reciting the ripped-from-the-headlines Middle East folk song "Road to Peace".

Certainly it helps that he continues to buck the aging rocker career trend of increasing cleanliness, wrapping these songs in dirt-grit production that keeps the Big Bopper warble of "Lie to Me" or the garage 12-bar Ramones cover "The Return of Jackie and Judy" from sounding like a House of Blues exhibit.

Label: Epitaph


Disc 1 
1 Lie to Me (Remastered)
2 Lowdown (Remastered)
3 2:19 (Remastered)
4 Fish in the Jailhouse (Remastered)
Disc 2 
1 Bottom of the World (Remastered)
2 Lucinda (Remastered)
3 Ain't Goin' Down to the Well (Remastered)
4 Lord I've Been Changed (Remastered)
Disc 3 
1 Puttin' on the Dog (Remastered)
2 Road to Peace (Remastered)
3 All the Time (Remastered)
Disc 4
1 The Return of Jackie and Judy (Remastered)
2 Walk Away (Remastered)
3 Sea of Love (Remastered)
4 Buzz Fledderjohn (Remastered)
5 Rains on Me (Remastered)