Email Signup

Be the first to know about new products and special offers!

Thanks for subscribing! Here's a coupon for $5 off $30 or more: MUSICMAIL

Jimmy Cliff - The Harder They Come Vinyl Record (New) 


This is a vinyl LP pressing of Jimmy Cliff's The Harder They Come -- the breakthrough album that, in conjunction with the film of the same title, burst reggae through into the mainstream with it's release 1972/1973

The album was first released in England in summer 1972 and in the US in spring 1973, on Mango Records, Island's newly inaugurated reggae specialist imprint.

As film director and co-writer Perry Henzell said of the film, "There is no impact you will ever have greater than the impact of showing a society itself on the screen for the first time." The heart of the soundtrack comes from performances by the film's star, reggae singer Jimmy Cliff.

Only the title track "The Harder They Come" was recorded by Cliff specifically for the soundtrack, with three earlier songs by Cliff added.



Disc 1
1 You Can Get It If You Really Want
2 Draw Your Brakes
3 Rivers of Babylon
4 Many Rivers to Cross
5 Sweet and Dandy
6 The Harder They Come

Disc 2

1 Johnny Too Bad
2 007 (Shanty Town)
3 Pressure Drop
4 Sitting in Limbo
5 You Can Get It If You Really Want [Instrumental]
6 The Harder They Come [Single Version]