Email Signup

Be the first to know about new products and special offers!

Thanks for subscribing! Here's a coupon for $5 off $30 or more: MUSICMAIL

Lightnin' Hopkins Vinyl Record (New, Special Jacket) 


This is a new vinyl LP pressing of legendary Texas country bluesman Sam "Lightnin'" Hopkins' self-titled album, recorded by musicologist Sam Charters recorded in 1959 before the revival of rural blues or country music.

Regardless, these recordings of Hopkins's first acoustic session was met with immediate acclaim, quickly becoming a blues classic.

This vinyl reissue is part of Folkways Records' 70th anniversary celebration series, revisiting some of the most iconic and influential albums released on the record label, starting with Lightnin' Hopkins, Woody Guthrie and Jospeh Spence. Remastered from the original 1959 LP master tapes and presented in classic Folkways style with a tip-on jacket featuring original liner notes.

Label: Smithsonian Folkways


- Disc 1 -
1 Penitentiary Blues
2 Bad Luck and Trouble
3 Come Go Home with Me
4 Trouble Stay 'Way from My Door
5 See That My Grave Is Kept Clean

- Disc 2 -
1 Goin' Back to Florida
2 Reminiscences of Blind Lemon
3 Fan It
4 Tell Me, Baby
5 She's Mine