Email Signup

Be the first to know about new products and special offers!

Thanks for subscribing! Here's a coupon for $5 off $30 or more: MUSICMAIL

Jimi Hendrix Experience Live at Berkeley Vinyl Record (New) 


In the aftermath of the BAND OF GYPSYS, Jimi Hendrix looked to refocus his career and meet the challenges of a new decade.

Jimi's powerful impact at both Monterey Pop and Woodstock had not been lost, and Berkeley developed as a flash point in the heated battle over the Vietnam War and other emerging social and political issues.

Hendrix could have easily elected to fill the larger, nearby Oakland Coliseum like he had the previous year, but elected for the more intimate theater setting as the venue.

Tickets sold out at breakneck speed, and fans were clashing outside with security and police when the packed out house roared its approval as Jimi and the Experience took the stage. Jimi prefaced the concert with a request -- "forget about yesterday or tomorrow, this is our own little world tonight."

The evening's second set is presented here in its entirety and original sequence.

Disc 1 -
1 Introduction
2 Pass It on (Straight Ahead)
3 Hey Baby (New Rising Sun)
4 Lover Man
5 Stone Free
6 Hey Joe
7 I Don't Live Today

Disc 2 -
1 Machine Gun
2 Foxey Lady
3 Star Spangled Banner
4 Purple Haze
5 Voodoo Child (Slight Return)